Given the vastness of the South American continent and taking into consideration the absence of Resident Sri Lankan Diplomatic Missions/Posts established in the South American continent, except the Embassy of Sri Lanka in Brasilia, Brazil, the Government of Sri Lanka has established eight (8) Sri Lankan Honorary Consulates in selected South American countries and identified cities under respective jurisdiction in order to facilitate and cooperate with the host Government and authorities to enhance Sri Lanka´s bilateral relations with the country of appointed.